top of page
  • 執筆者の写真reikoshimogamawork

When I was 17

 ちょっと長いのですが、ぜひお付き合いください。


 17歳の時、東京の美大専門の大手予備校に通っていました。

その予備校の全国コンクールでわたしはデッサンで1位をとりました。

全国からわざわざ東京に宿泊してまで、浪人生や高校生が多数集まるコンクールで、芸大を目指す大勢の浪人生たちではなく、高校生だったわたしが1位をとれたことが

嬉しくて、講師の票がダントツだったことが嬉しくて、舞い上がっていました。

(ちなみに油画は3位くらいだったかと思います。)


 その頃すでにマレーヴィチやカンディンスキーをはじめとする抽象画や

インスタレーションなどの現代美術の表現に興味が傾いていました。

 抽象画に近い表現をし始めると講師も感心してくれて、ますます舞い上がりました(笑)。結果、基本で足場を固めずに努力を怠って、芸大は2次試験の油画で落ちました(笑)。1次試験のデッサンは通過していたので、コンクールの結果は相応だったのかもしれませんが・・・。


 その後1浪して結果多摩美に入学したのですが、

1浪の時は油画の仕上がりもよく、わたしをみていてくれた講師が別の講師に「今年は、下釜、芸大行けます!!」と太鼓判を押しているのをたまたま聞いてしまい、プレッシャーでまたもや2次の油画で落ちました(笑)、まあ、ご縁がなかったのでしょう。でも、芸大には当時尊敬する先生が1人いて、本当に尊敬していたので行きたかったです。多摩美でも、その後ずっと尊敬できる恩師たちと出会えたので、後々その結果には感謝しています。


 予備校でその頃よくわたしの作品について言われたのが「色が綺麗」でした。

油画のクラスでは、デッサンも「色」を重視する傾向があります。

たった1本の鉛筆でも、白から黒までのトーンの幅(=色)をいかに使いこなせているか、その人の表現に生かされているかが問われます。

油画もまた然りで、油画の場合はさらに色の幅が広がります。


 「色が綺麗」は褒め言葉なのに、当時のわたしはをの言葉を聞くと残念に思いました。「色しか良くない」と聞こえていたのかもしれません。

 

 それから20年(←ここで引かないでくださいw)たって、

色のことをもっと知っていくにつれて、色が綺麗、と褒められることが

嬉しいことなんだと知りました。

それは、色の世界を知っているということで、それを表現に昇華できている証拠だからです。わたしも人の作品に「色がいいですね」と言うことをためらわなくなりました。


 これからもっと色の研究を深めて、色の世界と、色でできる自分の世界をより知っていきたいと思います。



When I was 17, I attended a prep school specializing in art school in Tokyo. I took the first place in Sun at the prep school competition. At a competition, students gathered from all over the country to stay in Tokyo and took the competition. The instructor's vote was unbelievable, and I lost in myself. (By the way, my oil painting was the 3rd best oil paintings in the competition.) At the time, I began to have interests in Wassily Kandinsky and Installation expression of contemporary art.


After that, I lost one and entered Tama Art University next year as a result. My skills for oil painting were good enough at the time, and I happened to hear that the instructor was pushing to another instructor saying "I think she can pass the exam of Tokyo University of the Arts this year !!" I felt the pressure then and It fell in the second oil painting (lol), well, I guess there was no connection. However, there was one teacher I respected at Tokyo University of the Arts at that time, and I really respected him, so I wanted to go there. Even at Tama Art University, I was able to meet my esteemed teachers for a long time, and I am grateful for the results later. At the prep school, it was often said at that time that the colors of my paintings were beautiful. In the oil painting class, drawings also tend to emphasize "color". Even with just one pencil, it is questioned how well the tone width (= color) from white to black can be used and how it is used in the expression of the person. The same is true for oil paintings, and in the case of oil paintings, the range of colors is even wider.


Twenty years later, the more you know about colors, the more beautiful they are praised. I knew that I was happy. It is because knowing the world of color is proof that it can be sublimated into expression. I also don't hesitate to say "I like the color" to people's works. From now on, I would like to deepen my research on color and get to know the world of color more.







0件のコメント

最新記事

すべて表示
bottom of page